lobisystem.blogg.se

Syncthing ignore folder
Syncthing ignore folder













syncthing ignore folder syncthing ignore folder
  1. Syncthing ignore folder software#
  2. Syncthing ignore folder windows#

Lightroom certainly isn’t perfect, but it solves a few problems for me.

syncthing ignore folder

I settled on using Adobe Lightroom as the main hub for my photo library. After all, it’s only worth taking photos if there is a good way to look at them or find specific photos in the future. In 2020 I finally decided to embark on an organizational project that will hopefully help make my photo library more accessible. I love photos and the memories they help preserve. I’ve been a regular digital camera user since 2004, when I was still in high school. It’s a project I’ve been envisioning for a long time, and a first major step is getting a handle on my personal photo collection. This by no means is representative of the masses, but better than not having numbers on the table.I’m on a search for the holy grail of managing, organizing, sharing, and archiving my digital assets, and ever since buying a house this year, I feel like I can invest time and resources into doing this. If it matters, I volunteer to tally up the people who care about this enough to type a few sentences here over the past five years. Yes, we cannot have an exhaustive list of everything one would like to ignore, but that shouldn't stop us from trying our best. The solution, however, breaks nothing and is simple just include default ignore lists. I have a few projects of mine corrupted and had to rm -rf. Syncthing by default can and will corrupt.

Syncthing ignore folder software#

There is a much stronger point here about usability by default a backup software should never corrupt what is already there. I bet this number is fairly high, meaning we should not ignore a large portion of our current user base.

syncthing ignore folder

git is a niche tool but consider this: the number that really matters here is the conditional probability of a syncthing user also using git aka p(uses git | uses syncthing). git/* objects unpredictably - it doesn't happen all the time and doesn't corrupt all the repos just happens sometimes for some repos under some weird race(?) conditions. So far, trying to sync a folder which somehow contained (not directly) a version control repository (e.g.git) corrupts the. Regardless of what platform we're on, we should use the same default excludes for consistency (and because people do share storage devices between systems). local/share/trash is the per-user trash-can for XDG compliant desktop environments on Linux (which is 90% of what people who use X use on Linux). gvfs is found in most people's home directories on Linux when they use most desktop environments other than KDE, and shouldn't be scanned because it covers dynamic access to access transiently connected and non-filesystem items (network filesystems, archives, MTP devices, etc) I'm not 100% certain what OS it's from, but it looks like ancillary volume metadata (which makes me think it's probably OS X), so it probably shouldn't be synced. fseventsd is something I see a lot on removable media. I've only ever seen this on the C: drive, but I think it shows up on a different drive if there's not enough room on C.

Syncthing ignore folder windows#

$WINDOWS.~BT is a temporary directory used for OS upgrades on Windows (and is often huge if it exists). $RECYCLE.BIN (case insensitive, since newer Windows versions use $Recycle.Bin) is the per-drive recycling bin for Windows















Syncthing ignore folder